Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: deep bone bruise  (Read 1481 times)

Offline Tlee

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
deep bone bruise
« on: January 30, 2006, 03:47:52 PM »
My 18 year old son has recently been diagnosed with a deep bone bruise to his left knee.  He had severe pain during batting practice at college.  He described it like someone taking a bat to his knee.  It happened while twisting to make connection with the ball.  He was not hit in anyway.  They did a MRI and found the bruise but said there were no tears in the ACL.  All that I have read has said there is a connection between deep bone bruises and ACL tears.  Any input would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!

Tlee

Offline abicham

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • sports, sex and sun!
Re: deep bone bruise
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2006, 10:10:08 AM »
Hi there, I have been battling with my right knee for more than 3 months now after landing repetitively from jumps on skis; first of all I was diagnosed with bone bruising and the doctor said that it can take 2 to 3 months or more to get better. It's quite a long process and I think it's highly adviseable to not to any high impact sport during that time. Just walking (if he can) is good. Unfortunately for me it turned out that I had more than just bone bruising so that is why I 'm still in pain. I think that bone bruises are a bummer but they always get better in the end.
Good luck,
Abi. (injured ski instructor in the french alps).
Broken pelvis 2004, pudendal nevralgia march 2005, chronic knee pain since October.

Offline sharshar

• Regular Poster
  • San Francisco, CA Baltimore, MD
Re: deep bone bruise
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2006, 03:37:08 PM »
Hello Tlee,