Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Pain after MRI  (Read 739 times)

Offline niedana

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Pain after MRI
« on: January 29, 2006, 02:56:05 AM »
HI I'm new to the boared and am in desperate need of help.  4 years ago I fell in the tub and ripped up my meniscus pretty badly. My surgeon was  unable to repair the rips and ended up taking some out instead. On September 11th of this year I tripped in church and ran my knee into a solid oak pew. I ended up having to have arthroscopic surgery again, and this time he sewed up some and had to trim some.  After 4 months my knee kept hurting and the pain and sense that something was floating inside my knee wouldn't go away. I called my surgeons office who promptly scheduled an MRI. The MRI actually hurt. I could feel it the whole time, and could feel something moving inside my knee for the entire 1/2 hour. The tech gave me a cd of all  the imiages. I took it home and looked at them since my surgeon had done such a good job of teaching me what to look for with meniscus tears. What I saw shocked me,, it appers that a pair of hook scissors ( a tool used during the surgery) was in my knee. I got a copy of the radiologist report, which says nothing about a foreign object. My family doc thinks I'm nuts and won't even look at the CD because as she says "I'm not qualified to read it"  I"m in extreme pain now, my knee looks like a bowling ball and my leg is numb from the knee down. I sought help at the ER last night, and they even refused to look at the pictures. They prescribed Vicodin and told me to see my surgeon because they thought I simply had a torn meniscus again. What do I do? The surgeon that did the orginal surgery is out of town, and quite frankly I"m not sure I even want to look at him again. I want this out now but don't know where to go for help.  I already have an attorney on retainer, who is trying to get an impartial radiologist to make a new report for us, but that might ta