Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: OPEN WEDGE HTO - DONE! Now the healing begins ....  (Read 25600 times)

Offline knee-will-be-great

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 0
  • Open-wedge HTO & ACL allograft done (YES!)
    • ACL Allograft #3 Post-Surgery Rehab/Wellness Diary
OPEN WEDGE HTO - DONE! Now the healing begins ....
« on: January 24, 2006, 06:22:41 PM »
Hello Everyone,

Please excuse me for the typos.  I do not have the time to correct them all; although I thought that the website did have a spell-checker, I do not see it.

I am 5 days post-op for an open wedge HTO using donor (irradiated) bone for the bone graft.  I am happy to say that 3 days post-op I did not need pain meds.  I have a 125 degree range-of-motion; quite amazing considering that this knee is a bona-fide veteran of extensive knee surgery prior to the HTO.  I had a minimal dosage general anaesthetic, but did have a sciatic nerve block and a femoral nerve block put in prior to going under.  The nerve blocks are administered through IV drips and act directly on the two major nerves of the leg, thus essentially deadening the leg to sensation and movement.  To my understanding, this ameliorates the need for high dosages of general anaesthetic, thus expediting the process of feeling great after surgery.  I am delighted to say that I feel great, both physically, spiritually, cognitively, intellectually and emotionally!!!

I have read extensively on the subject of HTOs et al; here's my personal perspective about how to prepare oneself for this surgery, and how to undertake life post-surgery, be it in-hospital or at home: