Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Sleeve to wear under a Townsend brace  (Read 2877 times)

Offline Baxterman

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Sleeve to wear under a Townsend brace
« on: December 29, 2005, 04:55:59 AM »
I have a very badly worn left knee and have had to wear a Townsend brace for stability when I do anything strenuous like skiing. I used to have a rubber sleeve to wear under the brace to protect the skin. It has worn out. Does anyone know where I can get a replacement ?

I am a newbie here and my doctor(s) have told me that I should be thinking about a knee replacement. I am 63 years old and tore my ACL and MCL in a motor cycle accident when I was 26. They were not fixed. I  also had a medial menisectomy in 1971 in that knee. I decided a loing time ago that I was not going to let this knee stop me from being active - so I have learnt to ski, play tennis, golf, etc. Maybe this activity (with the help of a brace) contributed to the deterioration of the knee. I feel bone on bone contact and my docs tell me that I have advanced arthritis because of the uneven wear and bone contact.

I have pain most of the time - but I have gotten used to it. I do not take any prescription meds - yet. I am wondering if I should just go ahead and get the knee replaced - people who have had it say they got better quickly and recovered full use of their knee in a few weeks. But the prospect still scares me.

I am hoping to learn a lot from the other members here about what is ahead of me. So thank you all ahead of time.

Offline Audice

• Global Moderator
  • SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 8
Re: Sleeve to wear under a Townsend brace
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2005, 11:32:22 AM »