Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: new member needs help  (Read 1019 times)

Offline miners

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • Liked: 0
new member needs help
« on: November 14, 2005, 09:32:07 AM »
 ???I am a 30 year old solicitor from South WALES in the UK. I started having knee dislocations when I about 10 years old. Back in those days Orthopedics where only really up on broken bones and i went back and fore the hsopital till they did a LR in 1988. Since then I have had 3 LR on both legs. I am now after 20 years under a new surgeon. He is a knee surgeon for the welsh rugby team so I am told. I saw him last friday and well I have not yet got over what he told me. He looked at my MRI scans and said that he wanted to do an operation of which there has only been 1 done in this area. He wants to reshape the knee joints as my patella's are too high riding. He said that there was also severe arthritis there and I would need major knee replacement in my 40's I though o my god that is 10 years. I am really scarred that I am going to be in a wheelchair. Anyone got any stories the same.

Miner
miners

Offline Natalie.D

• SuperKNEEgeek
Re: new member needs help
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2005, 12:39:28 PM »
Miner

Did your OS say what the procedure was called that he wants to do?   I had similar problems, I had high riding patellas, constant dislocations and also trochear dysplasia (groove that kneecap sits in was non existent), I also have very severe arthritis but have been told that they won't do a TKR until I'm at least in my middle to late 50s.  My OS performed a tibial tubercle transfer on me - I wonder if this is what your OS is talking about - although they are a lot more common so perhaps this is not what he's talking about doing?