Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: rough time at college  (Read 1303 times)

Offline allstardiva2005

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 0
    • Behind the Jersey
rough time at college
« on: October 19, 2005, 05:49:08 PM »
Hey everyone-

It's been awhile since I've posted on this board but that's because I've been settling into college (I'm a freshman at University of Michigan). Anyways like some of you know, I've had 6 surgeries (ACL, 4 medial meniscus repairs/removals, & exploratory scope). I'm currently waiting for a medial meniscus transplant (since I have none left) and an ACL revision. I have other problems (kneecap sublaxes 50%, LCL way too loose, arthritic changes, etc), but none requiring surgery as of right now.

Anyways a little over 2 weeks ago, my knee completely buckled, popped, and I immediately felt a sharp pain on the left back side of my bad knee. I was just standing with an equal amount of weight on both legs by the way. Since then, my knee has popped another time, partially given, unstable, I feel like something is catching, and I went to turn right (pivoting on my good leg) and my kneecap totally went left on the bad leg and that really hurt (never happened before). Personally, I think I might have torn my lateral meniscus (which I have not done before this, everything bad was on the medial side) because whenever I walk it's constantly hurting and unlike my medial side, the pain subsides when I get off of it. On the medial side, where I always hurt, it's just a constant pain and while activity makes it worse, it never goes away unlike this new injury where just staying off of it really helps...