Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Hello, I'm new here (37, mum, Cambridge, UK)  (Read 861 times)

Offline mamaofmanyemails

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Hello, I'm new here (37, mum, Cambridge, UK)
« on: September 30, 2005, 10:32:46 AM »
Hi everyone,

I am new here & just wanted to introduce myself.  I'm a 37 year old full time mum to three lovely kids, in Cambridge, UK. I am also a writer, writing lifestyle stuff, when I get the chance.  I have had rheumatoid arthritis since I was just eighteen months old in mainly my left knee, but also affecting some other joints.  I'm not up on all the terminology like you guys (but probably will be after a few visits to here!). I also have uveitis in my eyes (have lost sight in left & have been told to expect to lose the actual eyeball before long).  I spent alot of my childhood in & out of hospital - especially Taplow under the care of Dr. Ansell.  I have had umpteen arthroscopies (about a dozen or more, I have lost count) & surgery to my eye.  I have been on all sorts of drugs & treatments but am now at the stage of needing a knee replacement - I think they called it GRADE 4 osteo....something - I'm also extremey hypamobile which is great for being bendy, but not so great when it comes to the pain etc. Physio helps a little, especially in the pool, but the NHS means that I get very little help for too short a time. As some of you guys have probably found, I am also considered too young & lead a too active life for the surgeons to consider knee replacement viable just yet. The Rheumatoligy Clinic feel that drug treatments won't help anymore - and now prescibe pain killers, but these either don't touch the pain or make it difficult for me (with the wooliness of them) to carry on with normal everyday life as a wife & mother to three small active children.