Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Tennis, anyone?  (Read 1081 times)

Offline xisbum

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 0
  • Tennis nut raging against reality
Tennis, anyone?
« on: September 10, 2005, 03:50:15 PM »
Hello, fellow knees sufferers. I'm a newbie here at Kneegeeks and don't know where to post this, so I'll just jump right in with the facts.

I'm a top-end Baby Boomer, born in 1946, former smoker who quit in February, 1982, when I started taking tennis seriously. Played very hard tennis for the next 23 years, not very good but extremely competitive and stubborn. Ran down many balls, made many sudden stops and starts, most of them putting extreme pressure on my knees, especially the left one.

Also fought a constant weight battle since putting away the Winstons; actually went over 200 pounds for the first time this spring, and on my short frame (5-5), that was way too much weight.

Twisted my trusty left knee in April, and on my birthday, June 29, had artho on torn medial meniscus. OS took out a chunk, took a look at the medial articular cartilage and said "oops." Told me a week later that the meniscus was okay, what was left of it, but that the articular cartilage was riddled with osteo. I was likely in for some rough days, and maybe not many days on the tennis court, except for some soft, social doubles.

Although devastated, I jumped on his planned recuperation program, which included ample use of prescription anti-inflam drugs, Tylanol, aspirin, and even huge doses of glucosamine and chondroitin. As an afterthought, he recommended weight loss.

No recommended exercises, other than flexing the quads 150 times a day, and no physiotherapy. In fact, he said do as little as possible for the foreseeable future.

Progress - None. There was considerably more pain than I ever experienced in the knee, even from the initial injury up to surgery. Probably full of illusions, I expected to be back on the court in the advertised 4 to 6 weeks. Didn't happen.