Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Orthotics make it worse  (Read 2607 times)

Offline Alyce

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 1
  • Pain is inevitable. Misery is optional.
Orthotics make it worse
« on: September 06, 2005, 12:40:44 AM »
Hey Everyone,

I've been told by a second opinion OS that as a result of the failed microfracture, and the size of the lesion, 15mm x 9mm x 6mm, that my only option is a PKR replacing the patella only.  He also recommended new orthotics.

I have been wearing custom orthotics for 5 years.  These were the type that you put your foot in cushy stuff, and three weeks later you have them.

These new ones are made by a company called FootMaxx, in Canada.  You walk over a pad, and they analyze your gait, amount of pressure, etc.  I got them and wore them for 1 hour, and had excruciating pain in a new place in my knee and in my back.  I wore them for 2 more days, with it getting worse.  I know that there is a break in time.  I have suffered from chronic back pain as a result of the way I now walk/limp.  I've been in PT for 3 months for my back, and it is just starting to get better.

So I am not real thrilled at having that pain made worse.  I guess that I was just looking for a "magic bullet."  Now I have these $600 things sitting in my closet. 

I am very sesitive to subtle changes in sock thickness etc.  I can only wear my pegasus running shoes.  I have too much knee and back pain with any other pair of shoes.

Any thoughts?

Many Thanks,
Alyce
Patella shaving & Lateral Release 6/2002
Reattachment of Lateral Retinaculum & Microfracture 6/2003.
Both procedures failed.  Reattachment was successful.
Lesion remains 15mm x 9mm x 6mm
Tibial rotational osteotomy May 2009
LPFL rebuild May 2009
Surgery for Baja Patella February 2010

Offline blackbeltgirl

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 0
Re: Orthotics make it worse
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2005, 12:55:45 AM »