Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: 1st soccer game in 6 months  (Read 1835 times)

beth8466

1st soccer game in 6 months
« on: July 05, 2005, 05:21:15 PM »
 :-\  ??? .... well its almost been 6 months since I have played in a soccer game and tomorrow is giong to be my first one... I am sooo nervous. I have been practicing since 4/5 months post- op but the thought of playing in a game gives me butterflies.. And next weekend we have a tournament.. so I'm a lilttle nervous up in here. Any words of encouragment... :)

Offline blackbeltgirl

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 0
Re: 1st soccer game in 6 months
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2005, 05:59:20 PM »
Beth -

Just have FUN!!!!!  I'm sure you've missed soccer, and the whole team thing.  You are a success story, and there are a bunch of teens on this board looking to follow your footsteps back onto the field.  I'm sure you are a serious athlete, and in most cases the whole "just have fun, don't worry about winning" thing is inappropriate.  But for your first game back, just have fun!  It is proof that all that time in rehab was worth it.  Plus, I'm sure your coach wouldn't play you if you weren't ready for it.  It's his job to worry about who to play in what position.  Your knee will hold you - you've been practicing, you've got the go-ahead from your OS, you've got the brace if you need it. 

And report back after the game - there are others who could benefit from oyur good news.

Jess
ACI was supposed to be 2/21/06.  On 6/29/06 Insurance co said have another scope, and if it still looks good, they'll ok the ACI.
Microfracture Dec 7, 2004
   3cm x 6cm lesion, LFC; 3cm x 1cm lesion, trochlear groove; lateral tibial plateau lesion
2nd degree black belt, tae kwon do (had to stop)

Offline scarlit_sky

• Forum Faithful
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2005, 06:11:02 PM »
Good luck with the game. I know you are nervous... I know I will be if and when I can get back on the field, but you will do fine!