Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: TKR - unilateral or bilateral?  (Read 1648 times)

Offline kristin

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
TKR - unilateral or bilateral?
« on: July 04, 2005, 02:56:55 PM »
Hi.  I'm new to board.  I'm 44 and finally been given go-ahead for TKR.  Got 3 kids and leaning toward bilateral tkr to "get it over with".  Any advice?  Had a wicked Fulkerson done 6 years ago, so not new or scared of pain and rehab. Thanks, Happy 4th!!
Grade 4 OA both patellas, 10/98 failed Fulkerson lknee, LR, Medial Reefing, bilateral tkr scheduled fall 2005

shadehawk

Re: TKR - unilateral or bilateral?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2005, 03:20:06 PM »
Kristin,

Hi, if you look in the 'arthritis dept' under 'total knee replacement' you should be able to find some stories in there.  You could also try the 'Rehab Dept' under 'Post-op-diary' and also find information.

Welcome to the board.

Good luck with your surgery,

Shade[/color]

Offline Teresa_S

• SuperKNEEgeek
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2005, 10:02:54 PM »
Personally, I would not have bilateral tkrs. I had bilateral scopes, and could literally not walk or get up and down to the bathroom. I had a tkr and multiple problems, and am so thankful not to have had the bilateral surgery. My OS recommended it as the recovery would be "over with" but with the problems I have encountered, I am so happy not to have done it. I believe that they did recommend bilateral tkrs, but now have come to the conclusion, spacing them a few months apart are better.Mostly, the people who post here, have had complications. I was told by PT that the older patients seem to recover easier than the younger ones for tkr. Teresa
On going instrumentation failure, chronic infection,
Arthroscopes Left 11 Right 2, MRSA, L TKR  ,  Revision, LR x5, Medial and lateral meniscus repair, Broken prosthesis
Osteochondral Fracture,untreated 6 mths. Revision new tkr 01-07 awaiting new hip and right knee
R TKR pending

Offline kath