Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: muscle imbalance  (Read 2188 times)

Offline jono

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
muscle imbalance
« on: January 30, 2003, 09:45:55 PM »
i have a imbalance in my knees in particular the vastus medialis. (my bad knee). I also have difficulty staightening this knee. was a keen runner, suffered fractured femur many years ago . I am 53 yrs old.

Offline Linds

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 3
  • worry about what you can change!
    • Linney and Kitty's Website
Re: muscle imbalance
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2003, 05:24:17 AM »
Hi Jono, I read your post, but you didn't really ask a question. Thought you might want to modify it so you ask a question.
Take care
Linds
1997 Scope RK
2002 LR RK
2002 Scope and hematoma evac RK
2004 LR LK
May 06 Fall from Horse, partial ACL tear and meniscus injury, Tibial plateau injury
2007 Scope, Plica Excision and Debride LK
2009/2010- Possibly Ankylosing Spondylitis?

Offline The KNEEguru

• Administrator
  • SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 112
  • The KNEEguru
    • The KNEEguru
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2003, 12:37:39 AM »
Hi jono,
Welcome to the board. Was it a tibial plateau fracture?
KNEEguru
--
KNEEguru

Offline jono

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • User's Text
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2003, 09:59:02 PM »
i guess i should have asked about suitable excercises for  the vastus medialis which may improve my muscle imbalance

Offline katie

• Regular Poster
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2003, 06:21:36 PM »
The main one my physio had me do to rebuild the muscle is to lie on a flat surface and basically clench one's front leg muscles -- like trying to push the back of the knee onto the surface.

Apparently if you do it with both legs at the same time it works better and you should be able to see the VM on your good leg bulging out. It worked quite quickly - after a couple of months of doing 20-30 of those a day plus step-ups and things the muscle was noticeably bulkier when contracted.