Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Tore ACL Twice?  (Read 18208 times)

Offline Dramarama21

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Tore ACL Twice?
« on: June 02, 2005, 04:12:25 PM »
I had a question for all of you who have had to go through ACL reconstruction, only to tear your ACL again. How did you guys tear your ACL a second time? Was it when you went back to sports or was it pushing too hard during rehabilitation? I just ask because I am having my ACL surgery this summer : ) Also, if you had to have a second reconstruction, can the ACL ever be as strong?

Thanks, Christina :)
Partial ACL tear Oct. 2003 (Playing soccer)
ACL Reconstruction Aug 18th, 2005

Offline ATsoccergirl

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 1
  • Practice safe sports, use an athletic trainer
Re: Tore ACL Twice?
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2005, 05:40:33 PM »
Hey Christina-

I'm a professional soccer player and I have torn my ACL twice among other things.  I have a very, very aggressive surgeon so for the second time around my rehab was greatly accelerated and I was able to return to play in 3.5 months.  When I tore mine the secomd time, it was a purely contact injury which not only tore my ACL but shattered the tibial shell of my Townsend Premier brace. 

I would look very closely at the mechanism of your second tear, if it was contact normally your ACL would have torn regardless.  If it was non-contact it's time to look closer at other factors such as hamstring strength and knee alignment.
1999 LR, 2002 ACL/PLC recon, reversal of LR, 2004 ACL revision, 2006 Car accident torn PCL and small fractures resulting in bone chips in my knee.  Torn MCL 3 times.  Wicked screws under IT band and Pes Anserine.  June 2008-Hip Arthroscopy.

Offline schuss

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2005, 05:44:52 AM »
Hi,