Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Should I get a knee replacement?  (Read 753 times)

Offline gladysanne

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Should I get a knee replacement?
« on: May 19, 2005, 07:54:46 PM »
Hi,

Have just been put on the waiting list for an oxford PKN.
Had a medial cartilage reoved in 1976 and have had pain for about the last ten years.  Have had two arthroscopys but am  now severely limited as to what i can do. Am only 51 and not overweight but have had to stop going to the gym and knee is painful after bout 10 mins walking.  I am a teacher so am on my feet all day.
Having said that  I could live with the pain for a bit longer if i had to.
Not keen to have the op as it seems to signify the start of a series of ops at roughly 10 year intervals.... and what happens when I'm in my early 70's?
Anyone any advice?
Anne
« Last Edit: May 20, 2005, 07:35:49 PM by gladysanne »

Offline gladysanne

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
Re: Should I get a knee replacement?
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2005, 07:36:57 PM »
Anyone any help or info?
Anne

Offline rozzzie

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • smile:a little curve that strightens everythig out
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2005, 09:06:35 PM »
Anne,

How's your quality of life??  I think that is the question that you need to answer.  If your quality of life is really bad, then you may opt for the PKN,  If not wait a little.  They are making strides in artificial knees all the time and they are beginning to last longer, there is a good chance that by the time you need a replacement or a TKR that they may be lasting well over 20 years.

Only you can decide if you want the new knee.

Good Luck and   H U G s !  !

Rozzzie
OA of knees since 85 
93 scrambled ankle - PE
98 PE
99 anlke fusion
04 hit by car broken leg, ribs AC joint seperation
RTKR  Dec 1 2005
LTKR. IM rod removal March 16, 2006

Offline Josie1951

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • User's Text
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2005, 11:46:12 PM »
Hi there