« on: January 01, 2003, 04:16:42 PM »
Posterior cruciate ligament.

See ACL and you will understand.
--
KNEEguru

Offline LA2047

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 0
  • Why is the 3rd watch hand called the second hand?
Re: PCL
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2004, 09:44:47 PM »
A little elaboration, for those of you perhaps new to this type of injury.  I'm no expert, but this is what I was told by the three OSes I had when I ruptured mine - if I'm incorrect on any point here, please feel free to correct me.

First, lots of doctors perform ACL reco's, but not a lot repair PCLs.  Apparently a PCL is a somewhat different procedure than an ACL, so an OS has to do some different training to qualify.  Also, according to one of the OS doc's, the path and location of the PCL - especially as it relates to an artery in the leg - makes it potentially more complicated and risky, hence another reason not as many OSes perform these.

While an ACL injury "can" heal good as new, a PCL won't necessarily.  I had a friend injur her knee (ACL rupture as a result of a routine - and surprisingly minor - crash while skiing) two months after my PCL rupture.  Within six months you'd never know her knee was ever injured, and within a year, she had returned to skiing, running, etc. as it if was never torn.  When I brought this to the attention of my OS, he said you can't really compare a PCL (or its rehab) to an ACL because while they are close to each other in the knee, what it takes to injur them - and rehab them - is vastly different.