Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Help - getting desparate with knee recovery.  (Read 1028 times)

Offline explodinghead

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Help - getting desparate with knee recovery.
« on: April 14, 2005, 06:23:46 AM »
I am new to knee injuries so I apologise if I am not 100% clear.

I injured my knee 7 months ago and since have had Physio till eventually got refered to the surgeon for an Arthoscopy. The actual problem is damage to the shiny gristle on the end of my thigh bone. The surgeon has removed a flap of gristle through to the bone and about 1 by 1.5 inches in size.

Since the op, I was getting stronger and working the muscles OK. The main problem has always been the last 10%-20% movement to straighten my leg.

2 months since the Arthoscopy everything was getting stronger but last three weeks the pain has increased and I am now considering returning to crutches. The problems started with the knee clicking more than noramal and now I cant walk propoerly, sleep etc.

I have been told that the injury may need a graft but this will be decided when I vist next June.
Please can somone advise what I should do next, I have been told to try to keep the joint working, but right now the muscles are aching up and down my leg, the knee is hurting constantly - I have not had any additional trauma to the knee but have been walking, driving etc as normal.

Do these types of injuries go like this with good and bad patches, one of my biggest worries is the muscle wastage, as soon as I stop the muscle will disapear, it has taken two months to get any muscle back. My calf and thighs are already 1.5 inches smaller than my other leg and I fing they give way quite easily (just with waliking or standing).

Thanks

Tim

Offline Linds

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 3
  • worry about what you can change!
    • Linney and Kitty's Website
Re: Help - getting desparate with knee recovery.
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2005, 11:37:38 AM »