Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Been diagnosed 2 yrs ago, nothin' done, now have extreme pain  (Read 870 times)

Offline cantignorethepain

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Been diagnosed 2 yrs ago, nothin' done, now have extreme pain
« on: February 25, 2005, 05:50:11 AM »
I have had an MRI done for my right knee. An ortho surgeon has diagnosed me to having a torn medial meniscis tear (a degenerative tear). He only advised 18 visits for physical therapy then do this at home. He seemed reluctant to help me in any other way. I have talked to other people who have the same exact diagnose but had immediate surgery with this same surgeon. I am an active female, I am an EMT, I do my exercises. My daughter (16) now has the almost ssame issue with her right knee. And that same surgeon dosen't want any type of surgery for her neither. Do you think I might be being discrimintated against ...maybe because of my husband's insurance policy for the whole family??  Well, now 2 years have passed and I have torked my knee to prevent slipping on ice at home. Now I have another appt. with same surgeon because of extreme pain and hard swelling. Do you think, NOW he will think of surgery to get this !!*%$ thing out of my knee area? Can you advise me of what I need to do at this point.

Offline ProfLiebstrom

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • fin
Re: Been diagnosed 2 yrs ago, nothin' done, now have extreme pain
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2005, 05:52:10 AM »
He probably thought you wouldn't have been able to afford the surgery and it was possible for you to go on just after having physio for it.

Offline Linds

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 3
  • worry about what you can change!
    • Linney and Kitty's Website
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2005, 08:36:48 AM »