Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: plica syndrome/hole in cartiledge  (Read 2288 times)

Offline mom

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
plica syndrome/hole in cartiledge
« on: February 17, 2005, 06:59:06 AM »
Hi!  I'm new to this.  I have a 14 year old daughter that just plica removal surgery on her left knee last July.  She also has it in her right knee.  She was a competative swimmer for 7 years, and the repetitive kicking aggravated the situation. My daughter was going to have surgery on her right knee this summer, but she still has pain in her left knee.  Her OS says that she has a "hole" in her cartiledge where the plica rubbed, and one of her options is to have her kneecap drilled into to form scar tissue (?).  I thought she just had scar tissue removed.  Please inform me which topics I should look into, and what experiences other people have had.  Especially any swimmers.  I'm hoping she isn't doomed to a life with Advil.  Thanks. :)

Offline Heather M.

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 13
    • Check out my photography!
Re: plica syndrome/hole in cartiledge
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2005, 08:02:51 AM »