Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Kaiser Permanente - Love them? Hate Them?  (Read 1007 times)

Offline rawsushi

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Kaiser Permanente - Love them? Hate Them?
« on: February 17, 2005, 05:12:30 AM »

okay okay - so I have kaiser.  for my kids it's never been 'bad'

With that said, i'm starting to think of changning my opinion from good to mediocre.

Looking fwd to hearing more about your views.
Carpe Diem

Offline casey2291

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • User's Text
Re: Kaiser Permanente - Love them? Hate Them?
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2005, 11:39:21 AM »
hey,

Wow, I can't believe you have to wait five months for surgery.  That seems insane for the US.  I live in Maryland and I have Kaiser and I have mixed feelings about them.  Sometimes I like them and sometimes I get so annoyed with them.  This is my first year with them.  As for the PCP's, I have not thought much of them at all (especially since you can never speak to a real person when you call their office).  As a matter of fact, I probably would have had my knee taken care of months ago if my PCP had any idea what she was doing.   As for OS, I have come across one who was a wacko and one that I really liked.  Fortunately, my OS was unable to perform the type of surgery that I need, so I got a referral out of they system.  I was quite happy about that.  But, I am definately trying to figure out how they work. At my last OS appointment I had no idea that I needed to get a new referral everytime I went, so it was a huge hassle just trying to get to speak to someone from Kaiser let alone get the referral over the phone.  However, I was determined that I was not leaving that office until I had a referral (which took about an hour to get).  And by then my I was the last patient of the day and my OS just wanted to get rid of me.