Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: help with my knee please  (Read 909 times)

Offline lilkat

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
help with my knee please
« on: February 17, 2005, 01:13:46 AM »
hi all...

i am new to this... have a few problems with left knee...

i have had problems with my knee all of my life... starting with a growth when i was very small... which doctors said was fatty tissue and would go away on it own... which it did... but hung around for 2 years...

then i was diagnosed with osgood schlatters disease in my teens... but to me this seems to be a mis diagnosis... as the pain has not subsided since then... and i am now 22... i learnt to deal with the pain... until 5 months ago...

my knee caps seem very small in comparison with my knee itself... and i can also move my knee caps around quite a bit... actually can move them so they are almost on the side of my leg... is this normal??? i mean am i worrying for no reason about this... they also squeak... not quite a cick... but a definate squeaking... almost grinding sound...

i cam home from work (care assitant in a nursing home) wth very painful knees... i was walking very gingerly... i opted for my usual remedy... a warm bath and early night... the pain had gone away in my right knee... but not my left... so i went to see my gp... n she  diagnosed a sprain... told me to rest...

a week later i went back... my knee was swollen... and it was too painful to straighten... although i could straighten it... it hurts too much... the pain it on the front of my knee... around the boney part... but also at the back when i straighten it... she was unsure of a diagnosis... but told me just to rest... and sent me home with pain killers...

then 2 weeks later i went to see another doctor... whom told me to try and move my knee as much as possible... but also wrote a referal to see an orphopedic surgeon...