Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Can I have some advice please?  I  (Read 1557 times)

Offline Michelle

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
Can I have some advice please?  I
« on: December 06, 2002, 01:10:55 PM »
Hi Everyone!

I'm new to the message board and you all seem to know LOADS and I was just wondering if somebody could help deciphering medical jargon.  I don't know why but everytime I go and see my OS I get completly tounge tied and don't seem able to ask any sensible questions, and always come out feeling confused and not really knowing anything.  I just seem to feel really intimidated and I wanna get out of there as quick as possible.  As a result I can barely understand what I have done to my knee.  

I twisted my knee at the end of August whilst walking around at home, and heard a pop and pain etc.  I went to casualty and they pulled it around and x-rayed and told me that I had 'fractured' it and to go to the fracture clinic in a few days when the swelling had subsided.  Anyway got an appoinment with my OS privately the next week and he had a good pull around and said that I had probably torn meniscus and ACL.  So a couple of weeks later I had an arthroscopy to find out the extent of the damage.  

A few days later I went to see him and he told me that I have ruptured my PCL, and that I had a small tear in my medical meniscus, which he excised during the arthroscopy.  He aslo said that I have a 'large fiberous synovial shelf' and a 'stage 2 lateral femoral condyle legion with some softening '  (I have probably spelt these all completely wrong) does anybody have any idea what this means?