Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: MCL sprain - Can't bend knee  (Read 29569 times)

Offline botchoyhain

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
MCL sprain - Can't bend knee
« on: December 21, 2004, 04:43:54 AM »
I have a grade 2 MCL sprain which happened almost a month ago and have physical theraphy 2x a week for 2 weeks now.  I cant seem to bend the injured knee beyond 45 degrees due to pain and tightness.  Is that normal ?  What exercises are effective and how long before I can fully bend my knee.  Appreciate if anyone with a similar injury can reply.  Please post and also reply to [email protected] ??? ???

brattkids2

Re: MCL sprain - Can't bend knee
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2004, 02:29:32 PM »
You may want to move your post to the MCL ACL section of the boards. you will get a whole lot more replies!!

Happy Holidays

Offline tanna76

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • User's Text
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2005, 05:49:26 AM »
Hi there! I am also new to this site, but your injury sounds just like mine so i thought i would share my tale with you. I injured my knee 5 weeks ago now, and originally i was told i had a MCL sprain also. I have been having PT 2x weekly since two days after the injury, and i can now push the knee to about 80 degrees but thats it so far. Last week i was finally refered for an MRI which revealed a whole heap of other stuff going on in there. I also have a slightly torn ACL, torn meniscus (cartlidge) and bone bruising. They seem to think that the reason for the lack of flexion could be the torn meniscus blocking the joint, or arthrofibrosis which is basically scarring within the joint. They still haven't decided how to fix it yet! I dont mean to scare you or anything but wanted to let you know that it might be more complicated than an MCL sprain. My advice... ask for a referral to a Orthopaedic surgeon and get an MRI done. At least then you will know then. In the mean time, exercise it. Move it as much as you can. I