Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: How long  (Read 1038 times)

Offline risky

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • Smile lifes 2 short to worry about the little bits
How long
« on: November 07, 2004, 02:08:51 AM »
HI all just been given a date to go into hospital to have ACL rebuild and a look about to see nothing else is up.  I come from the UK and was wondering how long they keep you in hospital after the op all i now is that its not getting done in day sug :(
( going in on 15th dec so want out for xmas ) . Also is their any other martial arts people out their that has had this done and how quickly did you manage to get back to it adn did yous lose alot of flexability.
cheers
LCL partly torn cattliage removed

Offline Tash_Pitre

• Regular Poster
  • User's Text
Re: How long
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2004, 01:14:50 PM »
Hey risky

I was a very serious martial artist (WAS) i was plannibg great things as i trained 12 hours 7 days a week that was until i tore my acl. I carried on training and my knee gave way every lesson til i just couldnt cope. The problem was i was too scared that my knee would give way. So i lost all confidence, so it'll take a while for me to rebuild it. Hopefully you didnt do the same as me and not go to the hospital or doc. I tore it when i was 16 and im 18 now.

I had my acl reconstructed 12 days ago and was in hospital for 4 days. The average is 3 - 5 days.

I still stretch every day but my flexibility is alot less as its not stretched through kicks.

It will be at least 6 months before you could return and do not pvot kicks, my physio told me around 12 months before i could return fully.

All the best

Offline risky

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2004, 08:30:41 PM »