Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Ask your doctor if synvisc is right for you?  (Read 2423 times)

Offline Kneesles

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Ask your doctor if synvisc is right for you?
« on: September 16, 2006, 03:58:31 PM »
I am a 20+ year vet of OA and injured my knee at 12yrs old playing  soccer in England.  I have had arthroscopic surgery 2x, ('83+'95) and am walking bone on bone on the inside of my left knee joint for the past 10yrs. Tried glucosamine (Nikken Joint CM complex), and excercise regularly to stay fit. Would rather not mask the pain with a temp bandaid but pain has forced a change in my quality of life.  Recently seen 3 orth surg's for their take on my next move.  All say different things. I want to know if it's worth trying synvisc before going for a total knee replacement at 43yrs. old.  I can only walk 2-3 blocks and am only in excrusciating pain when walking, otherwise bareable. I see mixed results with it and assume it is based on the extent of injury and severity of OA. Also, when the time comes... which knee to choose?

Offline SallyW

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 2
  • User's Text
Re: Ask your doctor if synvisc is right for you?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2006, 09:31:27 PM »
I suppose you've considered cartiledge repair operations like OATS and ACI? If so (and you aren't a candidate for any of those operations), then why not at least try Synvisc? What have you got to lose?