Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: I hate my knee, it's killing me!  (Read 850 times)

Offline sarahabee082

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
I hate my knee, it's killing me!
« on: October 24, 2004, 11:12:49 PM »
I'm new to this, so please bear with me...

About 5 weeks ago, I fractured my upper medial femoral condyle (or something like that...). The inner knee bone, bottom of the femur. The OS gave me a knee immobilizer, told me no surgery necessary, no cast necessary, all very good news. Things have been okay up to this point, but now he says it's time to try and get some range of motion back. He told me to get on an exercise bike, and start with the seat fairly high. He's crazy!!! I've never felt such pain in my life! The eliptical doesn't bother me, and neither do stairs, if I do them slow.  My leg doesn't bother me to walk, but I can't completely straighten it, and can barely get it to bend to a 90 degree angle before crying in pain. There's also some swelling/fatty tissue stuff all around the knee cap, except at the top below the thigh.

So my question is: Has anyone had a similar injury? And if so, how long did the healing process take? Is it supposed to hurt this much to do simple exercises? How was your experience? Do you still have problems with it? Any limp? This is my first fracture/break, and I'm terrified!

Offline Linds

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 3
  • worry about what you can change!
    • Linney and Kitty's Website
Re: I hate my knee, it's killing me!
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2004, 03:49:25 PM »
Hi and welcome to  kneegeeks, wish you didn't need to be here... :-/

Check out the section on the forum called bone breaks around the knee.  There might be more information for you there.
Have you thought about going to a physiotherapist to work on your rehab. Might be helpful... they can tell you exactly what you should be doing and what not.