The Schenck Classification gives an idea of the degrees of knee dislocation based on the number of ligaments damaged, and the presence of associated fractures.



  • I Single ligament injury (ACL or PCL)
  • II Injury to ACL and PCL
  • III Injury to ACL, PCL, and either the LCL or MCL
  • IV Injury to ACL, PCL, LCL and MCL
  • V Multiligamentous injury with periarticular fracture


Knee Dislocations. Lessons Learned From 20-Year Follow-up. Schenck RC, Richter DL and Wascher DC. Orthop J Sports Med. 2014 May; 2(5): 2325967114534387.

See also -