Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Author Topic: two MRIs. Do I need artho or total knee replacement.  (Read 3785 times)

Offline blackgrapes

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
two MRIs. Do I need artho or total knee replacement.
« on: October 20, 2011, 05:57:35 AM »
I am a NEWBIE, looking for advice from the knee experts.

I  had (12/20/10) arthroscopic surgery for repairing two tendons in my right knee. I tore last August. Unfortunately I was in a bad car accident this past July and smashed both knees. I tore my labram hip as well. I am hoping someone can look at the attached report I received for my knee MRIs and give me some insight to what it may mean. My DR. appt isn't for two weeks.
 I had a hard time healing after the last surgery. If I have to have surgery again, should I have a total knee replacement? Also any advice on what are the best types of materials used and best DRS. I live in VA. but I am willing to travel.

Thank you, anyone and everyone who is willing to take the time to read the report and reply. I need to send the MRIs in a couple different posts.

ARRRRRGGGGHHHH. I can't upload the MRI report. ???????

Heidi
« Last Edit: October 20, 2011, 06:08:44 AM by blackgrapes »

Offline blackgrapes

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
I typed out the report. Please help me.
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2011, 07:16:12 AM »
I guess I will just type it. Here goes. I will leave out some of it.
left knee. (less injured).  As there is prominent undersurface tear defect at the posterior horn and body of the medial meniscus. A 12mm x 15 mm parameniscal cyst note at the posterior meniscocapsular junction extending to the inter- condylar notch. There is moderate chondral wear at the central weight-bearing surface of the medial femoral condyle with partial thickness chondral delamination and fibrillarion; A 6 mm x 8 mm chandral flap noted. Superficial fibrillation noted at the medial tibial plateau.