Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Author Topic: mpfl recon and vmo  (Read 730 times)

Offline aaa

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 1
mpfl recon and vmo
« on: March 16, 2011, 06:30:41 PM »
Hi

How would one respond to a surgeon who claims MPFL recon is dangerous as it can damage the VMO ...

From what I understand MPFL would be pretty isolated repair, but I'm not a Doctor, and curious what evidence could refute this notion

Offline TOMMAX

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 0
    • shoulderguru.ca
Re: mpfl recon and vmo
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2011, 06:07:30 AM »
Hi

How would one respond to a surgeon who claims MPFL recon is dangerous as it can damage the VMO ...

From what I understand MPFL would be pretty isolated repair, but I'm not a Doctor, and curious what evidence could refute this notion

Hi yb,

I would think that the surgeon has a good point since the MPFL and vmo are very close to each other so things could get damaged. They would be drilling into your patella and femoral epicondyle with screws so that in itself would be very risky and Id imagine there could be potential for nerve damage so that could possibly shut down the vmo? Just taking a stab in the dark here. I personally would also be worried of patella fracture with the drilling of screws into the kneecap.

Ligament reconstructions are complex and risky, lots of potential for problems I would think. Never came across any specific evidence of the vmo complication happening but maybe someone else will chime in with some data.

There is a poster on here who had an mpfl recon in the past couple months, "hckyguy". Worth checking out his thread, its been quite the battle for him to recover so it just goes to show that the ligament recons are no joke.