Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Author Topic: Swimming without an ACL  (Read 3290 times)

Offline strive2thrive

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Swimming without an ACL
« on: August 28, 2010, 12:18:06 AM »
Hi - I'm a newbie to this forum and long-time lurker (complete ACL rupture 12/28/2009, left knee, no surgery).  I was inspired to post because two weeks ago the best thing happened: I discovered that I can swim freestyle laps without pain!  Anyone had experience with swimming after ACL injury?  I find it interesting that I can swim, but the extension machine (open chain) is still too painful.  Are there any dangers with swimming that I should keep in mind?  I've just been so excited because all of a sudden I can DO something that shows how far I've improved after 8 months of hard, hard, work.  I generally split my sessions between freestyle and kickboard.  I'm not super fast or anything and I only do about 400 meters each time.  Thoughts?  Advice? 
December 28, 2009 - ski accident - complete ACL tear left knee - no surgery

Offline Snowy

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 60
Re: Swimming without an ACL
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2010, 05:24:08 PM »
Isn't swimming awesome? I relied on it heavily both during the time I spent without an ACL before surgery, and since getting my new ACL.

My PT had absolutely no problem with me swimming without an ACL, as long as I stuck to flutter kick. He told me not to use the other kicks (breaststroke, butterfly) but to swim as much crawl (and kickboard with flutter kick) as I wanted.

Leg extensions are actually very, very hard on an ACL deficient knee. The motion causes forward motion of the tibia and places significant shearing force through the knee. It places direct stress on the ACL if you have one, so it's no wonder that it's painful without an ACL. How do you find the closed chain exercises (e.g. leg press) in comparison?
Mar 11: R Biceps femoris tear (skiing)
Jul 10: ACLr (hamstring autograft)