Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Author Topic: Flying after knee surgery - how soon?  (Read 20966 times)

Offline Andraf

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Flying after knee surgery - how soon?
« on: August 30, 2008, 03:39:43 AM »
My husband is going to have knee surgery next week to reconstruct the ACL with allograft and to have his meniscus repaired. How soon after that will he be able to fly safely? The doctor said six weeks would be preferable but my husband wants to get back to Europe - he's having the surgery in California. To get back home we would have to take an overseas flight to a European capital - 11 hours flight - and then another 2 hours flight from there. The only good thing is that his company said they would fly him either business or first class, I don't know if that makes a difference.

Offline eaglemom

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 1
Re: Flying after knee surgery - how soon?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2008, 04:45:13 AM »
I'm not a doctor, but if a doctor is telling you 6 weeks then I'd wait 6 weeks.  Its not only the sitting in one position but the altitude change that will cause even more swelling that is of concern.  The pressure change is brutal.  That flight is so long - you asked, I'd follow the doctors advise.  And even then it sounds like a conservative estimate to me.  My two cents........................

Offline clemmy

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2008, 05:16:45 AM »

Also increased risk of developing DVT-- deep vein thrombosis-- i.e. blood clot in the veins of the legs. That's a very serious condition.

Offline Kaputt_Knee

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 58
  • There's always an alternative, just find it!
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2008, 08:12:42 AM »