Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Author Topic: Scar tissue complications with my knee replacement  (Read 16602 times)

Gimppy

Scar tissue complications with my knee replacement
« on: June 18, 2005, 10:58:25 PM »
I am TOTALLY new to this type of info center ... so please bear with me! I had a total knee replacement 6 weeks ago, using the J & J DePuy Knee. I have had a 50 year history with my knee, 8 surgeries prior to the replacment ... going into surgery only had a 90 degree bend, luckily I have a a fabulous Orthropedic Surgeon, one who has been listed in the "top Docs" ... that not withstanding, I am in PT and have major scar tissue problems, with only a 50 DEGREE BEND ... I am totally frustrated and getting depressed, which is not my basic nature, I am a very optimistic person normally... always see the brighter side of life. QUESTION ...
should I at this point request that my MD go back into my knee, while I have a Spinal, and break the scar tissue??? I am in PT
3 times weekly for a 2 hour stretch.  At home I 'try' to hang my leg over the bed and let gravity 'pull' and bend my leg ... anyone who has had this knows of the pain involved ... at this point, I feel very beaten down ... Any suggestions? I have been a VERY
active person my entire life, sports-wise, etc.

Offline Jan_L.

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 0
Re: Scar tissue complications with my knee replacement
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2005, 09:13:41 PM »
Hello Gimmpy,

I think you would get more help if you checked the total knee replacement section.  There is a procedure call MUA (manipulation under anthesia) which is often very helpful after a TKR.  A lady named Josie had this done last week and her ROM is almost 100 now.  You should be able to talk with her under the TKR section.  Another lady named Hubbmama had a MUA done and found it to be helpful also.

Jan
1985 - auto accident- both knee went thur the dash.
1985 - 1990 Four scopes left knee
2002 - Fulkerson TTT
2003 - Scope Rt knee