Advertisement

Advertisement

Advertisement

Author Topic: Patellar chondral injury w/deep chondral fissures  (Read 12959 times)

Offline tinkerbell76

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
Patellar chondral injury w/deep chondral fissures
« on: December 28, 2004, 08:46:38 PM »
I hope that someone can help me with a recent problem that I have.  I am a 28-year-old female and started right knee pain, swelling and constant cracking.  I went to a local walk-in and the doctor there ordered an MRI.  The MRI report shows moderate effusion, patellar chondral injury with deep chondral fissures.  I tried to do a google search for this, but could not find any good websites with any good information.  It is my understanding that this is normally the result a trauma, but I never injured my knee and I am not athletic.  I have spoke to a few doctors about this issue, as I work in the medical field and everyone has something different to say, but they all agreed that I need to see an orthopedic surgeon.  I have scheduled an appointment with one, but it is not until the end of next week.  I am very concerned that I have been having the pain and swelling for two weeks now and the cracking has been going on for months.  I don&#8217;t know if this is something that is treated with medications or if it is a surgical issue.  Any help that you can give me would be great.  Thanks in advance!!!!!!!!

Offline Heather M.

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 4
    • Check out my photography!
Re: Patellar chondral injury w/deep chondral fissu
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2004, 11:09:37 PM »
There is quite a bit of information on the web, you just need to have the right keywords to plug into the search engines.  Try chondromalacia, chondral defect, chondral lesion, focal lesion, osteoarthritis, and crepitus (the crunchy noise).